Sen. J.D. Ford presents special resolution to Zionsville Fire Department Chief James VanGorder and Firefighter Abdullakh Abamislimov

5/5 - (1 vote)

January 28, 2020

SubmittedAmanda Vela, Director of Communications & Community Relations, Town of Zionsville, (317) 873-1585

Yesterday, Sen. J.D. Ford presented Zionsville Fire Department Chief James VanGorder and Firefighter Paramedic Abdullakh “Dully” Abamislimov a special resolution for receiving the Fire Chief of the Year and Paramedic of the Year Awards at the 2019 Indiana Emergency Response Conference (IERC) Awards Banquet.

This recognition took place in the Senate Chamber before the Senate and was recorded into the State Code. Sens. Phil Boots and Brian Buchanan co-sponsored the resolution.

At the IERC banquet last September, Chief VanGorder was recognized for his many accomplishments over his past 23 years as Fire Chief, including coordinating the creation of a safety committee, establishing fire gear isolation guidelines, issuing each firefighter two sets of fire gear and more. Abamislimov received Paramedic of the Year for his display of calmness, confidence and the same quality of care as a seasoned clinician early in his career as a Paramedic.

“It is such an honor to recognize these two public servants,” Sen. Ford said. “I am always amazed at the abilities and dedication of our state’s first responders. Zionsville is lucky to have a Chief and a paramedic that were recognized by their peers for being the best in their field. Congratulations to Chief VanGorder and Firefighter Paramedic Abamislimov!”